Why do dbt descriptions keep getting deleted?

If you notice that the descriptions from a Snowflake table, for example, get deleted when dbt is your source of truth, it is likely that you have the data source scheduled to run after the dbt run. 

As recommended here, this is the ideal workflow ordering:

  1. Crawl data stores first.
  2. Mine query logs (and dbt) second.
  3. Crawl BI tools last.

We recommend using this dbt feature so that your metadata also persists through workflow runs.

Related articles

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful