How to save and share queries

Have more questions? Submit a request

You can save queries to re-run them later, schedule them, or share them.

πŸ’ͺ Did you know? You can only save queries through a collection. You can share collections with others, to share your queries.

Save a query

To save a query:

  1. Open the query in Insights.
  2. At the top of the query, click the Save button.
  3. In the resulting dialog, replace Query name with a name for the query.
  4. If you have access to existing collections, click the button at the top of the dialog to choose one.
  5. If you have no collections, at the top of the dialog click the Query collection button and then Create Collection:
    1. For Name enter a name for the collection.
    2. (Optional) To the left of the name, click the icon to choose an icon for the collection.
    3. (Optional) For Description describe the collection.
    4. (Optional) For Share select other users or groups that can access the collection. (See below for more details.)
    5. At the bottom of the Create Collection dialog, click Create.
  6. (Optional) In the bottom left of the dialog, click No Certification to give the query a certificate.
  7. (Optional) To the right of the certificate, click Term to assign a term to the query.
  8. At the bottom right of the dialog, click Save Query.

Share a query collection

To share a collection of queries:

  1. Open Insights.
  2. In the upper left, click the papers-in-a-box icon.
  3. Under the icon, click the name of the selected query collection.
  4. From the resulting list of collections, hover over the collection you want to share.
  5. Click the 3-dot icon to the right of the collection name and choose Edit collection.
  6. In the Edit collection dialog, under Share:
    1. Search for users or groups with whom to share the collection.
    2. (Optional) To the right of the user or group, click the Can edit drop-down to change the sharing permissions:
      • Can edit allows users to view, run and edit all queries in the collection.
      • Can view allows users to view and run all queries in the collection, but not edit them.
    3. Repeat these steps for each user or group with whom you want to share the collection.
  7. At the bottom of the Edit Collection dialog, click Update.
πŸ’ͺ Did you know? Users with only Can view permissions will still be able to change the interactive part of interactive queries.

Related articles

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful